

Ursula von der Leyen President-elect of the European Commission

RE: Call to President-elect Von der Leyen to support women's reproductive rights in the EU

Brussels, 1 October 2019

Dear Madam President-elect Von der Leyen,

In light of this year's International Safe Abortion Day we, Members of the European Parliament and Member of Parliament of the Netherlands, call upon you to secure the rights of the 15 million women in the European Union who still lack access to safe and legal abortion.

The EU is founded upon the shared values of human dignity, freedom, equality, and respect for human rights as stated in Article 2 of the Treaty on European Union. We pride ourselves in being a union of values. This notion, however, does not hold up when it comes to the sexual and reproductive health and rights of women across our Union. Recent years have witnessed an upsurge in efforts of governments and anti-choice movements to obstruct a woman's right to choose. In some Member States, abortion can even lead to a woman's imprisonment.

The new European Commission's mandate for the next five years presents you with an outstanding opportunity to strengthen sexual and reproductive health and rights across the EU. Together we must stand in solidarity with women in each of our Member States and reiterate our strong commitment to a woman's right to decide over her own body.

Exactly 40 years ago, Simone Veil was elected as the European Parliament's first female President. She dedicated her career to the defence and advancement of women's rights and, in doing so, became a role model to us all. We hope that, to honour her legacy, you - as the first female President of the European Commission – will make a woman's right to choose a priority in your agenda for the next five years.

Yours sincerely,

Vera Tax (S&D, NL)

Lilianne Ploumen (Member of Parliament of the Netherlands - Founder and Co-Chair of SheDecides)

MEPs for Sexual and Reproductive Rights

Corinne Ellemeet (Member of Parliament of the Netherlands)

Kati Piri (S&D, NL) Agnes Jongerius (S&D, NL)



Paul Tang (S&D, NL) Lara Wolters (S&D, NL)

Mohammed Chahim (S&D, NL)

Clare Daly (GUE, IE) Yannick Jadot (Greens, FR) Sylwia Spurek (S&D, PL) Milan Brglez (S&D, SI)

Kira Marie Peter-Hansen (Greens, DK)

Karen Melchior (Renew, DK) Maria Noichl (S&D, DE) Sheila Ritchie (Renew, UK) Giuseppe Ferrandino (S&D, IT)

Rosa D'amato (NI, IT)

Jude Kirton-Darling (S&D, UK) Tudor Ciuhodaru (S&D, RO)

Julie Ward (S&D, UK)

Caroline Voaden (Renew, UK)

Izaskun Bilbao Barandica (Renew, ES)

Monika Beňová (S&D, SK) Maria Arena (S&D, BE) Tineke Strik (Greens, NL) Radka Maxová (Renew, CZ) Alessandra Moretti (S&D, IT)

Malin Björk (GUE, SE)
Leila Chaibi (GUE, FR)
Alice Kuhnke (Greens, SE)
Dietmar Köster (S&D, DE)
Antony Hook (Renew, UK)
Attila Ara-Kovács (S&D, HU)
Abir Al-Sahlani (Renew, SE)
Catherine Bearder (Renew, UK)
Markéta Gregorová (Greens, CZ)

Manuel Pizarro (S&D, PT)
Helmut Scholz (GUE, DE)
Heidi Hautala (Greens, FI)
Daniel Freund (Greens, DE)
Giorgos Georgiou (GUE, CY)
Sylvie Guillaume (S&D, FR)
Kim van Sparrentak (Greens, NL)

Sandra Pereira (GUE, PT) Irène Tolleret (Renew, FR)

Alexandra Louise Phillips (Greens, UK)

Marisa Matias (GUE, PT)

Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield (Greens, FR)

Samira Rafaela (Renew, NL) Aurore Lalucq (S&D, FR) Sophie in 't Veld (Renew, NL) Bettina Vollath (S&D, AT) Liesje Schreinemacher (Renew, NL)

Delara Burkhardt (S&D, DE) Petros Kokkalis (GUE, EL)

Konstantinos Arvanitis (GUE, EL) Margarida Marques (S&D, PT) Michal Šimečka (Renew, SK) Manuel Bompard (GUE, FR) Assita Kanko (ECR, BE) Martin Hojsík (Renew, SK) Alexandra Geese (Greens, DE)

Estrella Durá Ferrandis (S&D, ES)

Marianne Vind (S&D, DK)
Saskia Bricmont (Greens, BE)
Petra de Sutter (Greens, BE)
Evelyn Regner (S&D, AT)
Caroline Nagtegaal (Renew, NL)
Niyazi Kizilyürek (GUE, CY)
Łukasz Kohut (S&D, PL)
Pascal Durand (Renew, FR)
Irina von Wiese (Renew, UK)
Nathalie Loiseau (Renew, FR)

Marie-Pierre Vedrenne (Renew, FR) Chrysoula Zacharopoulou (Renew, FR)

Ville Niinistö (Greens, FI)

Margrete Auken (Greens, DK)

Monika Vana (Greens, AT)

Shaffaq Mohammed (Renew, UK) Claudia Gamon (Renew, AT) Marie Toussaint (Greens, FR) Moritz Körner (Renew, DE) Pina Picierno (S&D, IT)

Danuta Maria Hübner (EPP, PL) Petras Auštrevičius (Renew, LT) Jan-Christoph Oetjen (Renew, DE) Dimitrios Papadimoulis (GUE, EL)

Ellie Chowns (Greens, UK) Tilly Metz (Greens, LU) Billy Kelleher (Renew, IE) Robert Biedroń (S&D, PL)

Miapetra Kumpula-Natri (S&D, FI)

Naomi Long (Renew, UK)

Adriana Maldonado López (S&D, ES)

Luisa Porritt (Renew, UK)

Anne-Sophie Pelletier (GUE, FR)

Tanja Fajon (S&D, SI)

Erik Marquardt (Greens, DE) Marek Paweł Balt (S&D, PL)

Evin Incir (S&D, SE)



Maria Walsh (EPP, IE)

Heléne Fritzon (S&D, SE)

Sylvie Brunet (Renew, FR)

Stéphane Bijoux (Renew, FR)

Silvia Modig (GUE, FI)

Fabienne Keller (Renew, FR)

Pierre Karleskind (Renew, FR)

Hannes Heide (S&D, AT)

Stéphanie Yon-Courtin (Renew, FR)

Molly Scott Cato (Greens, UK)

Rasmus Andresen (Greens, DE)

Valérie Hayer (Renew, FR)

Olivier Chastel (Renew, BE)

Sirpa Pietikäinen (EPP, FI)

Malik Azmani (Renew, NL)

Biljana Borzan (S&D, HR)

Barbara Ann Gibson (Renew, UK)

Karin Karlsbro (Renew, SE)

Jan Huitema (Renew, NL)

Lucy Nethsingha (Renew, UK)

Laurence Farreng (Renew, FR)

Katalin Cseh (Renew, HU)

Gina Dowding (Greens, UK)

Monica Semedo (Renew, LU)

Mónica Silvana González (S&D, ES)

Jackie Jones (S&D, UK)

Lina Gálvez Muñoz (S&D, ES)

Norbert Neuser (S&D, DE)