

135 Members of the European Parliament Rue Wiertz 60 1048 BRUSSELS, Belgium

Brussels, 22 January 2020

Ways and Means Committee
U.S. House of Representatives
1102 Longworth, House Office Building
WASHINGTON D.C., 20515
United States of America

Committee on Finance
United States Senate
219 Dirksen, Senate Office Building
WASHINGTON D.C., 20510
United States of America

Concerning: Digital Services Tax and international negotiations on Base Erosion and Profit Shifting

Annex: Resolution on fair taxation in a digitalised and globalised economy: BEPS 2.0

Dear Members of the U.S. Congress,

At a time of growing scepticism about globalisation, increased pressure on our social safety net, and deep concern about levels of inequality, our citizens demand concrete action. From the heartlands of Michigan to the outskirts of Milan, many call for a fairer economy and society. To face these challenges, we must put an end to the tax practices of many large multinational corporations, which all-too-often find grey zones in the law that allow them to pay fewer taxes than they should. This leaves individuals with moderate incomes and small and medium-sized companies, the backbone of our economies, at a disadvantage.

Our citizens are right to demand equal treatment and protection. Over the past decades, corporate tax rates have plummeted. Between 1995 and 2017, US federal corporate tax revenue fell 30 percent. In the EU, the average nominal tax rate has decreased by 32 percent since 2000. It is of the upmost importance that companies, and not only individuals, contribute fairly to the sustainability of public finances. To achieve this, we must put an end to the profit shifting of billions to tax havens.

The key economic assumption that taxes are paid where profits are booked no longer holds true. This is not an inevitable consequence of globalisation. Lack of coordination has allowed this phenomenon to thrive. In a world dominated by multinational corporations, unilateral solutions do not deliver optimal results. Instead, they are opening new loopholes. The BEPS 2.0 negotiations at the OECD level are the perfect opportunity to modernise the principles that govern our out dated corporate tax system, and close loopholes, tackle our system's shortcomings and secure a fair taxation for our citizens. At the same time, broadening the tax base reduces the need for increased tax rates.



Our companies and citizens have adapted to our new weightless economy; so should the tax rules that govern its exchanges. We should move away from the arm's length principle and towards forms of unitary taxation. Concepts like minimum level of taxation, harmonisation of the tax base, and cross-border consolidation of taxable profit should be considered. Such was the motivation behind last December's European Parliament resolution on the matter, which we have attached to this letter.

There is widespread support, in society and in politics, to help middle and less privileged classes and stop letting some get away from their civic duties - such as paying taxes - which we should face collectively. In addition, many companies are calling for more stable and less complicated tax rules. As such we, the undersigned MEPs, ask you to join forces. We should push our respective administrations to take a constructive stance in the ongoing OECD negotiations and work to re-establish a well-functioning tax system. This means encouraging governments to tax companies, including digitalized companies, that currently pay minimal or no taxes. On the other hand, threats to impose tariffs in response to such measures should be condemned by both our institutions.

We hope that jointly, we can stimulate the development of a fair system in which all, rich and poor, pay their fair share.

Yours sincerely,

Scott Ainslie, MEP
François Alfonsi, MEP
Rasmus Andresen, MEP
Eric Andrieu, MEP
Marc Angel, MEP
Attila Ara-Kovács, MEP
Petras Auštrevičius, MEP
Carmen Avram, MEP
Traian Băsescu, MEP
Marek Belka, MEP
Brando Benifei, MEP
Monika Beňová, MEP

Benoît Biteau, MEP
Simona Bonafè, MEP
Marc Botenga, MEP
Gilles Boyer, MEP
Carlo Calenda, MEP
Damien Carême, MEP
Isabel Carvalhais, MEP
Mohammed Chahim, MEP
Olivier Chastel, MEP

Izaskun Bilbao Barandica, MEP

Ellie Chowns, MEP Miroslav Číž, MEP David Cormand, MEP Ignazio Corrao, MEP Seb Dance, MEP Nicola Danti, MEP Paolo de Castro, MEP Jérémy Decerle, MEP

Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield, MEP Karima Delli, MEP

Klára Dobrev, MEP Estrella Dura Ferrandis, MEP

Pascal Durand, MEP Bas Eickhout, MEP Tanja Fajon, MEP Jonás Fernández, MEP Giuseppe Ferrandino, MEP

Niels Fuglsang, MEP

Ibán García del Blanco, MEP Eider Gardiazábal Rubial, MEP

Luis Garicano, MEP Dino Giarrusso, MEP Sven Giegold, MEP Neena Gill, MEP

Raphaël Glucksmann, MEP Nicolás González Casares, MEP



Maria Grapina, MEP Christophe Grudler, MEP Elisabetta Gualmini, MEP Bernard Guetta, MEP José Gusmão, MEP Hannes Heide, MEP Eero Heinäluoma, MEP Martin Hojsík, MEP Alícia Homs, MEP Antony Hook, MEP Ivars Ijabs, MEP Yannick Jadot, MEP Jackie Jones, MEP Agnes Jongerius, MEP Jude Kirton-Darling, MEP Petros Kokkalis, MEP Kateřina Konečná, MEP Dietmar Köster, MEP

Miapetra Kumpula-Natri, MEP

Aurore Lalucq, MEP Philippe Lamberts, MEP Bernd Lange, MEP

Pierre Larrouturou, MEP

Alexandra Louise Rosenfield Phillips, MEP

César Luena, MEP

Pierfrancesco Majorino, MEP Aušra Maldeikienė, MEP

Adriana Maldonado López, MEP

Margarida Marques, MEP Pedro Marques, MEP

Fabio Massimo Castaldo, MEP

Marisa Matias, MEP Shaffaq Mohammed, MEP Csaba Molnár, MEP Alessandra Moretti, MEP

Javier Nart, MEP

Luděk Niedermayer, MEP
Juozas Olekas, MEP
Younous Omarjee, MEP
Dimitrios Papadimoulis, MEP
Piernicola Pedicini, MEP
Mauri Pekkarinen, MEP
Mikuláš Peksa, MEP
Pina Picierno, MEP
Giuliano Pisapia, MEP
Manuel Pizarro, MEP

Luisa Porritt, MEP Samira Rafaela, MEP

Soroya Rodriquez Ramos, MEP

Evelyn Regner, MEP
Frédérique Ries, MEP
Dominique Riquet, MEP
Sheila Ritchie, MEP
Michèle Rivasi, MEP
Sándor Rónai, MEP
Caroline Roose, MEP
Mounir Satouri, MEP
Christel Schaldemose, MEP
Andreas Schieder, MEP
Martin Schirdewan, MEP
Helmut Scholz, MEP
Joachim Schuster, MEP

Molly Scott Cato, MEP Stéphane Séjourné, MEP

Günther Sidl, MEP
Radoslaw Sikorski, MEP
Susana Solís, MEP
Maria Spyraki, MEP
Ivan Stefanec, MEP
Tineke Strik, MEP
Paul Tang, MEP
Vera Tax, MEP
Irene Tinagli, MEP
Patrizia Toia, MEP
Nils Torvalds, MEP
Marie Toussaint, MEP

Ernest Urtasun, MEP
Kathleen van Brempt, MEP
Kim van Sparrentak, MEP
Tom Vandendriessche, MEP

Hilde Vautmans, MEP

Marie-Pierre Vedrenne, MEP

Bettina Vollath, MEP Lara Wolters, MEP Salima Yenbou, MEP

Stéphanie Yon-Courtin, MEP

Carlos Zorrinho, MEP