To the attention of: Vice-President, High Representaive Josep Borell Executive Vice-President Margrethe Vestager Vice-President Věra Jourová Commissioner Helena Dalli

President of the European Commission Ursula Von der Leyen 15 December 2020

Honorable President Von der Leyen,

In your State of the Union speech last September, you mentioned that the Commission would propose to extend the list of EU crimes to all forms of hate crime and hate speech, whether because of race, religion, gender or sexuality.

Indeed, we need to have zero tolerance for all kind of hate speech and acknowledge the role of social media platforms in enabling and instigating hate speech online. As the current pandemic has ever more strengthened the role of digital platforms in our lives we need to uphold the Rule of Law, Democracy and Human Rights in every fora and platform where people communicate, including social media platforms.

Hate speech targeting girls and women remains under-reported and the safeguards in removing and reporting it online are not efficient enough. As you very well know, hate speech targeting women and girls is multiform, can focus on appearance, sexuality, take the form of general intimidation, belittlement or and inappropriate naming and shaming in any context of the discussion. Violent threats, death threats and sexual harassment are too common to any woman or girl using their platform online and expressing their freedom of speech.

We have to apply zero tolerance to any form of hate speech towards girls and women in all fora especially in different social media platforms. The social media platforms and other actors need to be legally obliged to act against and remove all hate speech targeting women and girls.

We as co-signatories demand zero tolerance on hate speech targeting girls and women and hope that you would act upon eradicating it in the upcoming Data Act regulation and other relevant regulatory measures, and any other possible actions of the Commission.

With respectful regards,

Sirpa Pietikäinen MEP

Some Preti kaduez

Member of the FEMM Committee

Co-signatories:

Magdalena Adamowicz MEP

Marc Angel MEP

Milan Brglez MEP

Isabel Carvalhais MEP

Deirdre Clune MEP

Rosa D'Amato MEP

Maria da Graça Carvalho MEP

Jakop Dalunde MEP

Anna Donáth MEP

Cyrus Engerer MEP

Rosa Estaràs MEP

Eleonora Evi MEP

Tanja Fajon MEP

Laurence Farreng MEP

Frances Fitzgerald MEP

Sandro Gozi MEP

Christophe Hansen MEP

Martin Hojsík MEP

Pär Holmgren MEP

Irena Joveva MEP

Billy Kelleher MEP

Lukasz Kohut MEP

Petros Kokkalis MEP

Alice Kuhnke MEP

Miapetra Kumpula-Natri MEP

Elżbieta Łukacijewska MEP

Ausra Maldeikiene MEP

Fabio Massimo Castaldo MEP

Radka Maxová MEP

Roberta Metsola MEP

Tilly Metz MEP

Alessandra Moretti MEP

Ulrike Müller MEP

Ville Niinistö MEP

Demetris Papadakis MEP

Kira Peter-Hansen MEP

Manuel Pizarro MEP

Evelyn Regner MEP

Isabel Santos MEP

Andreas Schieder MEP

HelmutScholz MEP

Michal Simecka MEP

Sylwia Spurek MEP

Maria Spyraki MEP

Ivan Štefanec MEP

Nicolae Ștefănuță MEP

Monika Vana MEP

Hilde Vautmans MEP

Henna Virkkunen MEP

Elissavet Vozemberg MEP

Isabel Wiseler-Lima MEP

Maria Walsh MEP

Michal Wiezik MEP

Željana Zovko MEP