Sie sind hier:

Open Letter: The situation of a Western Saharan activist Mahfouda Elfakir


Helmut Scholz hat gemeinsam mit anderen Europaabgeordneten einen Brief an die Repräsentanten der EU gerichtet, in dem diese aufgeordert werden, im Falle von Menschenrechtsverletzungen durch den marokkanischen Staat aktiv zu werden.


Brussels, December 17, 2019

President of the European Commission, Mrs. Ursula Von Der Leyen
Vice-President and High Representative of FASP, Mr. Josep Borrell
President of the European Council, Mr. Charles Michel

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, are writing to you regarding the ongoing civil rights problems at El Aaiun - Western Sahara’ occupied territories.
Last 15th of November Mahfouda Elfakir, a Western Sahara' activist living in El Aaiun, was
arrested after protesting in the court against a decision to arrest several teenagers (one of
them her cousin), following the celebrations of Algeria victory in the Africa Cup of Nations.
On her way to prison, she was beaten and put in very precarious conditions.
Mahfouda is a mother of two children and has a serious disease (she is waiting for a surgery),
that forces her to follow a strict medication. She got several visits from her father and her
health conditions have been degrading. Last 27th of November, she was judged and got a 6-
month prison sentence (which is rare, taking into account that she is a woman, mother and
with a fragile health condition).
Following this sentence, her family house was surrounded by the police and all the
communications, entrances, and exits are controlled. On the 28th, Labbat Ozman, 12 years
old, Mahfouda’s cousin, was arrested for trying to leave the house. He was released several
hours later, with obvious beating marks.
We thus urge you to establish contact with the Moroccan authorities about Mahfouda
Elfakir's condition of imprisonment and to understand if she is being given all the health care
access and legal defence.
Yours Sincerely,
Sandra Pereira MEP
João Ferreira MEP
Clare Daly MEP
Mick Wallace MEP
Manuel Pizarro MEP
Cornelia Ernst MEP
Francisco Guerreiro MEP
Tanja Fajon MEP
Helmut Scholz MEP
Benoît Biteau MEP
Ivan Štefanec MEP
Nikolaj Villumsen MEP
Klaus Buchner MEP
Sira Rego MEP
Manuel Pineda Marín MEP
Grace O'Sullivan MEP
Milan Brglez MEP
Pernando Barrena MEP
Marisa Matias MEP
José Gusmão MEP
Joachim Schuster MEP
Dietmar Köster MEP
Gina Dowding MEP
Özlem Alev Demirel MEP
Dimitrios Papadimoulis MEP
Rosa D'Amato MEP
Ellie Chowns MEP
Jytte Guteland MEP
Günther Sidl MEP
Sirpa Pietikäinen MEP





Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas

Meine Delegationskolleg*innen:
  • EU-Fördermittel